Prayer 05

Moses went up the mountain and came down with the Ten Commandments.
Jesus went up the mountain and proclaimed the Beatitudes.

The Mosaic Law was a series of prohibitions and interdictions.
Jesus had but one command and it is not a prohibition but an inspiration: LOVE.

The Mosaic Law was mostly about punishment, retribution and death.
Christ’s Beatitudes are about blessings, redemption and life.

St. Paul called the ministry of Moses the ministry of condemnation and the ministry of Jesus the ministry of righteousness.

Taste and see the goodness of the Lord.
~ Psalm 34

When Jesus saw the crowds, he went up the mountain,
and after he had sat down, his disciples came to him.
He began to teach them, saying:
“Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the Kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are they who mourn,
for they will be comforted.
Blessed are the meek,
for they will inherit the land.
Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they will be satisfied.
Blessed are the merciful,
for they will be shown mercy.
Blessed are the clean of heart,
for they will see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they will be called children of God.
Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness,
for theirs is the Kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are you when they insult you and persecute you
and utter every kind of evil against you falsely because of me.
Rejoice and be glad,
for your reward will be great in heaven.
Thus they persecuted the prophets who were before you.”
Matthew 5:1-12

This entry was posted in Discipleship, Life, Love and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *